EzPortal - Portal Software for Forums

EzPortal - Made to Fit Your SMF Forum - Glad You Found Us!
+-

UserBox

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
 
 
 
Forgot your password?

+- Recent Posts

The New AVG 2015 Free Upgrade is out by Maxx
October 23, 2014, 05:41:55 am

Re: Help with Update by Maxx
October 15, 2014, 07:37:14 am

Re: Help with Update by EzPortal
October 14, 2014, 08:27:14 pm

Help with Update by lazylivin
October 14, 2014, 08:20:46 pm

Re: Todays Birthdays block not working by Maxx
October 09, 2014, 10:49:33 am

Re: Todays Birthdays block not working by Jonas1975
October 09, 2014, 02:50:22 am

Re: Todays Birthdays block not working by Maxx
October 07, 2014, 01:31:07 pm

Re: Todays Birthdays block not working by Jonas1975
October 07, 2014, 11:48:18 am

Sponsored Links

+- HTML Menu


Sample HTML Block Usage - You May Custom Code it, as needed!

Author Topic: Problem with columns since updating to EZportal 0.6.6a  (Read 6023 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Talkfest

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Problem with columns since updating to EZportal 0.6.6a
« on: January 27, 2013, 07:43:00 pm »
I have SMF version 1.1.17 (latest in series) and recently updated EZportal to 0.6.6a (from 6.0.1).

(would love to update to 2.xxx, but that's not the issue here)

Anyway after the update to 6.0.6a, the forum shifted to the right of the "center" block, meaning I had 4 columns, with the forum itself squashed into a 3rd narrow column.

The work-around I had to use, was to shift all center blocks to the "top" position, which then allowed the forum to take up the space between the "left" and "right" columns.

I'd prefer to have some block in the 'center" but can't due to this issue.

Have you heard of this happening?

By the way.... EZPortal is great... Thanks for all your hard work!

Offline EzPortal

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 955
  • Karma: 53
Re: Problem with columns since updating to EZportal 0.6.6a
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2013, 09:10:55 pm »
Do you have a link to your site?

Also I would like to know which blocks and what configuration you have enabled. IE columns top, bottom, left right center.

Offline Anakin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Re: Problem with columns since updating to EZportal 0.6.6a
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2014, 02:25:30 pm »
Sorry for the resurrection, but couldn't find any other related post, feel free to move/merge if needed.

I'm experiencing the same thing. I created a site earlier today, using SMF 2.0.8 and EzPortal 2.0.1

If I enable the Forum News Block (or any other block) I get the situation depicted in these images:

http://i60.tinypic.com/29o33fc.jpg
http://i61.tinypic.com/2e1rddj.png

I can still do everything, if I change visibility settings to Home page only that works for 1 refresh, then back to examples. Odd thing is that ParseBBC also no longer works. This worked flawlessly after initial install, but I removed it, because I wanted news-items there, not static text.

Disabling the Block does not work. After clicking Save it is back enabled.

In the logging I see this (some text omitted due to privacy/security):

Code: [Select]
Reverse chronological order of list Today at 10:00:23 PM

Type of error: General
URL: http://www.eyeofterror.eu/index.php?action=forum
Error: 2: Illegal string offset 'parameter_name'
File: Sources/Subs-EzPortalMain2.php
Line: 2306

Thanks!

Anakin

Offline Maxx

  • Learning to Fly!
  • Site Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 412
  • Karma: 7
  • Gender: Male
  • Web Designer
    • Build and Tell - Web Design Ideas Classic Rock
Re: Problem with columns since updating to EZportal 0.6.6a
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2014, 03:22:32 pm »
I can't tell much form the image you posted, but did you check the panel width on the center?
I have not tried this myself, but I  will, to see what I can find, while waiting for Ez.

I do know that if your content is fetched or parsed from another source, it must not be bigger in width then the settings you have for your panels, I explained this in several post, how set the panel widths. example if you have 18% on the left and right then the center must be 64%!

if you are placing HTML in the center like an iframe it must fit the panel you select, most iframe codes, can be changed in the height with with-in the code of the iframe. also check you ezportal settings and make sure, the: Disable TinyMCE when adding/editing html ezBlock

otherwise the tags will be striped from the HTML!

Did you try to view this in your SMF default theme?

regards,
Maxx

Offline Anakin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Re: Problem with columns since updating to EZportal 0.6.6a
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2014, 01:48:16 am »
I can't tell much form the image you posted, but did you check the panel width on the center?
I have not tried this myself, but I  will, to see what I can find, while waiting for Ez.

I do know that if your content is fetched or parsed from another source, it must not be bigger in width then the settings you have for your panels, I explained this in several post, how set the panel widths. example if you have 18% on the left and right then the center must be 64%!

if you are placing HTML in the center like an iframe it must fit the panel you select, most iframe codes, can be changed in the height with with-in the code of the iframe. also check you ezportal settings and make sure, the: Disable TinyMCE when adding/editing html ezBlock

otherwise the tags will be striped from the HTML!

Did you try to view this in your SMF default theme?

regards,
Maxx

Maxx, what would you like to see? I might be able to deliver what you ask :)

As for the HTML (iFrame) you mention, there is no content yet. Just an empty Block.

As far as the screenshots go, they're pretty clear to me. There's supposed to be 3 columns: left, center, right. However when I add an EzBlock (Forum News in this case), there are 2 block next to each other in the center column. I would at least expect them to be below each other. Next to that, in my case the EzBlock shouldn't even be visible as I tagged it only for Homepage view, not Forum.

I haven't checked any width, where would I do that? I'm assuming it's alright, as otherwise the right column would be squashed, not the center?

With core Theme:

http://i62.tinypic.com/334qdko.jpg
http://i61.tinypic.com/25i1y1f.jpg

Thanks!

Offline Maxx

  • Learning to Fly!
  • Site Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 412
  • Karma: 7
  • Gender: Male
  • Web Designer
    • Build and Tell - Web Design Ideas Classic Rock
Re: Problem with columns since updating to EZportal 0.6.6a
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2014, 06:29:46 am »
Hi Anakin,

MY test site is kind of new and has the latest versions of EzPortal as well as SMF
Please make sure you don't have any mods that may conflict with this system. and only one portal set up on your site!


I just set up the ParseBBC and Board News to come up on my front page only and with the Categories That I selected with out issues.

IN the Ezportal block setup window I had something similar to what you posted, but once I was set up, saved and visited the front page (only), this all went away and all is good! and as I set it! and as you can see here it's work find also.

screen below!

regards,
Maxx

Offline Anakin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Re: Problem with columns since updating to EZportal 0.6.6a
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2014, 01:26:29 am »
Weird then.

No other portals installed, EzPortal is the only installed Mod I have. The only thing I know for sure that was not a default setting is that during the install of SMF I ticked "use UTF-8" for the database, but that should not be the source of an php variable-parsing issue.

All things aside: how do I troubleshoot this?

Offline Maxx

  • Learning to Fly!
  • Site Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 412
  • Karma: 7
  • Gender: Male
  • Web Designer
    • Build and Tell - Web Design Ideas Classic Rock
Re: Problem with columns since updating to EZportal 0.6.6a
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2014, 06:05:18 am »
One thing you could do is give us an error from you logs.
click on disable the evaluate templates and then visit the logs under undefined, look for any EzPortal error and send it to us! ( click on the error and it will show the code where the erros is and copy and paste to the post using the BBC "code " tags.

regards,
Maxx

Offline Anakin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Re: Problem with columns since updating to EZportal 0.6.6a
« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2014, 07:03:00 am »
One thing you could do is give us an error from you logs.

I already added that in my initial post, but I just re-enabled the Block and for some reason it seems to be working for 1 refresh now. The thing I changed was the source-board for the News. It was a child-board, but now a main board.

After that refresh, the Block is empty again?

The errors remain though:

Code: [Select]

  Reverse chronological order of list Today at 02:57:43 PM
URL: http://www.eyeofterror.eu/index.php?
Error 2: Illegal string offset 'parameter_name'
File: /home/eyeofter/domains/eyeofterror.eu/public_html/Sources/Subs-EzPortalMain2.php
Line: 2332

URL: http://www.eyeofterror.eu/index.php?
Error Illegal string offset 'parameter_name'
File: /home/eyeofter/domains/eyeofterror.eu/public_html/Sources/Subs-EzPortalMain2.php
Line: 2323

URL:http://www.eyeofterror.eu/index.php?
Error: 2: Illegal string offset 'parameter_name'
File: /home/eyeofter/domains/eyeofterror.eu/public_html/Sources/Subs-EzPortalMain2.php
Line: 2315

URL: http://www.eyeofterror.eu/index.php?
2: Illegal string offset 'parameter_name'
File: /home/eyeofter/domains/eyeofterror.eu/public_html/Sources/Subs-EzPortalMain2.php
Line: 2311

URL: http://www.eyeofterror.eu/index.php?
Error: 2: Illegal string offset 'parameter_name'
File: /home/eyeofter/domains/eyeofterror.eu/public_html/Sources/Subs-EzPortalMain2.php
Line: 2308

URL: http://www.eyeofterror.eu/index.php?
2: Illegal string offset 'parameter_name'
File: /home/eyeofter/domains/eyeofterror.eu/public_html/Sources/Subs-EzPortalMain2.php
Line: 2306

click on disable the evaluate templates and then visit the logs under undefined
I  don't understand what this means, I cannot find this in SMF options. Where specifically do I look?

Regards,

Anakin

Offline Maxx

  • Learning to Fly!
  • Site Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 412
  • Karma: 7
  • Gender: Male
  • Web Designer
    • Build and Tell - Web Design Ideas Classic Rock
Re: Problem with columns since updating to EZportal 0.6.6a
« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2014, 07:23:35 am »
OK, if you clear the admin logs, does the error re appear?

if so you mat=y want to replace the
sub-EzPortalMain2.php with a fresh one, but save a backup copy of the one you have first!

regards,
Maxx

Offline Anakin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Re: Problem with columns since updating to EZportal 0.6.6a
« Reply #10 on: June 28, 2014, 10:29:16 am »
As long as the block is active it appears.

I have not altered the file, if I download it and run a diff with the .zip-file I got from here, there is no difference. If the file had been corrupted, the page wouldn't load at all, right?

Maybe it's just an issue with the php-version? Which versions are supported? I'm running PHP Version 5.4.19.

Thanks,

Jimmy

Offline Maxx

  • Learning to Fly!
  • Site Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 412
  • Karma: 7
  • Gender: Male
  • Web Designer
    • Build and Tell - Web Design Ideas Classic Rock
Re: Problem with columns since updating to EZportal 0.6.6a
« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2014, 10:50:43 am »
I don't think it's the PHP version. I think we need to wait fo the EZ, on this, He may be at work. But I sent him a PM about this so, He will get back!\ to us!

This looks like it could be Data Base table Issue or entry,

regards,
Maxx

Offline Anakin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Re: Problem with columns since updating to EZportal 0.6.6a
« Reply #12 on: June 28, 2014, 01:47:56 pm »
I may have located the cause of "Illegal string offset". The array being referenced is empty from what I can tell, and the error possibly harmless?

From line 2296:

Code: [Select]
function EzBlockBoardNewsBlock($paramters = array(),$board = null, $length = null, $limit = null, $start = null)
{
   global $scripturl, $smcFunc, $txt, $settings, $modSettings, $context, $boardurl;

   $showlike = false;
   $ezblocklayoutid = 0;
   $showgoogleplus = false;
   // Pass all the parematers
   foreach($paramters as $myparam)
   {
      if ($myparam['parameter_name'] == 'board')
         $board = htmlspecialchars($myparam['data'],ENT_QUOTES);

First the array is set with nothing:

Code: [Select]
$paramters = array()
Then it is renamed

Code: [Select]
foreach($paramters as $myparam)
Then each block (which is nothing) is being tested

Code: [Select]
if ($myparam['parameter_name'] == 'board')
Will await EZ, we'll get this sucker :)

In the meantime, do you possibly have a previous version (compatible with SMF 2.0.8 of course) laying around I could try?

Offline EzPortal

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 955
  • Karma: 53
Re: Problem with columns since updating to EZportal 0.6.6a
« Reply #13 on: June 28, 2014, 02:01:31 pm »
The error seems to be some kind of database corruption of the ezportal blocks not sure what caused it first time I have seen it happen.
I would try to uninstall then do a reinstall and see if it helps.

Offline Anakin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Re: Problem with columns since updating to EZportal 0.6.6a
« Reply #14 on: June 28, 2014, 03:04:54 pm »
As per your request, I uninstalled and deleted the package. I then dropped the "ezp"-tables from the database (maybe the uninstall should do this?), re-downloaded the .zip from this site, uploaded and applied. Same issue.

When I add the block to the right-hand column it is nicely tucked underneath the Recent Topics block, and acts like it's supposed to it seems. Takes a few minutes for the forum-threads to actually show up in the Block (maybe working as intended?).

database collation is utf8_general_ci

 

+-SMF Gallery

Quick Menu

Powered by EzPortal
EzPortal
EzPortal For Your Forums

The Portal That Blends in! Easy to use out of the box. It's Free and it's here, so get yours now!

The EzPortal team is always working on updating and adding more features to EzPortal

For more information on how the ezPortal System works please follow this link: How to ezPortal

The key to running ezPortal is to have a good webhosting service. Find the home page companies to help make your decision on a web host.



Nature Media


The SMF Gallery

Show off your Picture collection or your favorite photos.

Many options to chose from. Basic and Pro Versions available!